Echoes


Shreds of me
hold my smile in place.
The taste of loss and regret
lays bitter on my tongue.
Echoing rooms within my heart
filled with the ghosts of joy
and the dreams of happiness,
I keep clutched to my chest.

In my solitude of sorrow
and disconnected helplessness
I don my many masks,
my well-worn disguises of serenity.
I hear my laughter ring false in my ears,
tainted with secrets and numbing fear.
As I move from day to day
in a soundless, monochrome dream.

One thought on “Echoes

Leave a Reply

