Love’s Memory


I’ve drunk from memory to find you in my past.
Remembering nights when we sat till dawn
Drinking sweet red wine, from crystal glass,
Eyes flashing, teeth flashing, laughing.

I’ve opened old books to find you.
Recalling the crackle of page, crackle of fire
As we read in silence, side by side,
Glancing one at the other, and offering smiles.

I’ve walked dark roads to find you in my past.
Calling down empty corridors in my mind.
Looking into dusty rooms to catch your eye,
And shining, shining a light all the while.

Leave a Reply

