poem for my father


How long has it been
since i have felt a rough fingertip
tracing the path of my tear
down the curve of my cheek?

How long has it been
since i have felt safe, at peace,
my ear resting on a chest
spicy with cologne and tobacco,
and booming with warm love?

Too long, too long ago,
a voice, deep, and layered
with gentle love and fierce concern
spoke my name, and sighed.
Too many years
have passed, since proud smiles,
and the twinkle of a shared joke
laughed in bright green eyes.

xox

how long has it been

since i have felt a rough fingertip

tracing the path of my tear

down the curve of my cheek?

how long has it been

since i have felt safe, at peace,

my ear resting on a chest

spicy with cologne and tobacco,

and booming with warm love?

too long, too long ago

a voice, deep and layered

with gentle love and fierce concern

spoke my name, and sighed.

too many years

have passed since proud smiles,

and the twinkle of a shared joke

laughed in bright green eyes..

2 thoughts on “poem for my father

  1. I miss mine too, though we did not at all relate in the way your poem describes (lucky for you that you and yours did). Miss him for another set of reasons entirely.

Leave a Reply

