goodbye my friend


This friendship you see, is killing me:
I can’t make love and walk away
Not think about you in the light of day.
I could not turn my heart to stone,
Each time your passion and mine were one.
Now I have to cut you out of me:
Excise you like a cancer from my loving heart.
The love that I feel,  and yet you can disregard
Has become a bitter poison draught,
That I drink each day to try to stop the pain.
Now I have to let you go, my friend:
Forgetting all the tears I wept for you,
The nights I bled for you.
Cutting myself so deep,
in the places you’d never see.
Crying myself to sleep,
Comforting the lonely love
You told me that you don’t need.

2 thoughts on “goodbye my friend

Leave a Reply

