Insomnia


I breathe in solitary self-defense;
All that is darkness on my soul
Spelled clearly in my eyes.

Alone I have my cold delights;
Lonely passions I have no breath
To breathe into, to bring them life.

In the quiet of the darkest nightmare
I breathe still, silent, lest I wake
To find it is no dream – it’s there.

Yet, every night the same reminders:
The single bed I do not own
And you, away on some Sabbatical.

I do not fear my lonely darkness,
I fear not too the endless days.
I only fear that you are lost.

I cannot sleep for sad silence –
Where you’re not breathing in my ear.

Leave a Reply

